H. Scott Aalsberg, Esq., P.C.
Attorneys at Law
39 Milltown Road, East Brunswick, N.J. 08816
1028 Route #23 North, Wayne, N.J. 07470
1-800-9-RIGHTS or (732) 257-5040
IF YOU HAVE BEEN CHARGED WITH A SUSPENDED OR REVOKED LICENSE TICKET 39:3-40 IN
NJ YOU FACE POSSIBLE JAIL, LOSS OF LICENSE AND MANDATORY SURCHARGES
SEE PENALTIES LISTED BELOW
GENERAL PENALTIES FOR DRIVING WHILE SUSPENDED IN NJ (39:3-40)

1ST OFFENSE*
A fine of  $500.00, and up to 6 months additional license suspension.  In addition, MVC surcharges will
apply along with increased insurance costs. Note additional penalties may apply, see below

2ND OFFENSE*
A fine of $750.00, up to 6 months additional license suspension and imprisonment for a term of up to 5
days.  In addition, MVC surcharges will apply along with increased insurance costs. Note additional
penalties may apply, see below

3RD or SUBSEQUENT OFFENSE*
A fine of $1,000 and shall be sentenced to imprisonment for not less than 10 days and up to 6 months
additional license suspension.  In addition, MVC surcharges will apply along with increased insurance
costs. Note additional penalties may apply, see below

Caught Driving while suspended or revoked.  Set up a free consultation to
see how we can help you. We have been getting not guilty verdicts for the
past 25 years.  Call 1-800-9-RIGHTS to learn how with a free in office
consultation!

*ADDITIONAL PENALTIES FOR DRIVING WHILE SUSPENDED IN NJ IF:
  • Offense occurs within 1000 feet of school property or school crossing zone
  • Offense occurs when violator was suspended for a conviction of a DWI, DUI or Refusal
  • Offense occurs with an accident resulting in personal injury to another
  • Offense occurs while violators license was suspended for failure to carry liability
    insurance
*98% Success rate of reducing, eliminating or winning a NJ suspended license ticket case is based on cases we have handled and reduced in the past.  Past performance is not indicative of
future performance and each case is fact sensitive, thus, the need for the in office consultation for the attorney to evaluate your New Jersey suspended license ticket charge.  98% Success
Rate applies for 1st and 2nd Offense tickets without accidents and the suspension not due to a DWI or prior No Insurance Charge.  Some penalties may not apply to out of state residents
please consult an attorney in your state of residence.  All penalties listed are accurate but mistakes may exist.  All penalties effective as of  January 12, 2018 and are subject to change at any
time without notice.
NJ DRIVING WHILE
SUSPENDED FACTS:
  • Driving with a
    suspended
    license can
    happen without
    your knowledge
  • NJ does not have
    a to work or
    conditional
    license, when you
    lose your license
    you lose it, you
    can't drive
  • If convicted of
    driving while
    suspended in NJ
    you will pay
    surcharges to  the
    state of NJ for
    three years no
    matter how long
    your license
    suspended for
  • If your insurance
    company does not
    drop your
    coverage your
    insurance will go
    up drastically.
Attorney H. Scott Aalsberg has a 98%
success rate of winning, reducing or
eliminating the penalties of a NJ license
suspended license ticket, put his high rate
of success to work for you!
No Aspect of this Advertisement or the Awards/Accolades mentioned herein has been approved by the
Supreme Court of New Jersey.  
Click here for a link on the methodology of each award.

98% Success
Rate to Win,
Reduce or
Eliminate the
Penalties for all
NJ Suspended
License Tickets
Free Consultation
In Office
1-800-9-RIGHTS
Defenses to a NJ Suspended License Ticeket include the following:
Many Defenses exist to a suspended license ticket and even if no defense can be found, your conduct after the fact can also be considered.   The best
defense is to never have been truly suspended and this can be because proper notice was not given that your license was suspended.  Other defenses
include an improper stop.  In a recent 2018 case State vs. Sutherland a Motorist had 1 out of 4 rear brake lights out.  NJ Law states that you must have a
rear brake light, but it does not say that all must be working.  Generally a mistake of law by a police officer will be a grounds for allowing a stop, but it
must be an reasonable mistake.  In this case the court ruled that the officers reason for the stop was not an objectively reasonable mistake of law
because the pertinent motor vehicle statutes were not ambiguous. The court noted that mistakes of law could only pass constitutional scrutiny where the
statute at issue was ambiguous. However, the court did state that the stop may still have been reasonable if the police officer was performing a proper
stop based on the invocation of the community caretaking doctrine.  However, this shows convictions can be reversed if you have a good lawyer that
knows the law.  Attorney H. Scott Aalsberg has represented over 10,000 clients over the past 25 years, is endorsed by over 180 Attorneys Nationwide
and has been recognized as a Top Criminal and Traffic Ticket Lawyer by more than 5 respected legal organizations.  If you want the best chance of
winning your suspended license ticket you need the best defense and that comes from hiring the best lawyer.