|The Penalties listed above apply even for a first offense!
The loss of your drivers license for all NJ Leaving the Scene of an Accident
Charges is mandatory! Even for as little as a Scratch on a Car
This offense is serious, Under N.J. Law a driver of any motor vehicle involved in an accident
resulting in damage in the amount of $250.00 or more to any vehicle or property or an accident
resulting injury or death to any person shall be presumed to be aware that an accident occurred.
Thus even if you didn't feel or even know the accident occurred you may be convicted of this
offense and lose for a scratch. Don't risk jail and the loss of your license. You must select a
Lawyer not based on price but on experience and reputation. Our Top Lawyer and founder:
Attorney H. Scott Aalsberg has been nationally ranked one of the TOP TEN Criminal Lawyers by
the National Academy of Criminal Defense Attorneys (2015-2018) and selected one of the National
Trial Lawyers Top 100 Trial Lawyers for 5 years in a row (2014-2019). Attorney Aalsberg has a 98%*
Success Rate of Winning, Reducing or eliminating the penalties for Leaving the Scene of an
Accident tickets. Don't risk jail and the loss of your drivers license, the sooner we gets started
on your defense the more we can do to help save your drivers license and keep you out of jail.
Call 1-800-974-4487 for a Free In office Consultation
* Attorney H. Scott Aalsberg has a 98% Success rate of winning, reducing or eliminating the penalties for NJ Leaving the Scene of an Accident tickets
associate and per diem attorneys from our office may not have this same success rate** Additional penalties and jail time may apply in leaving the scene of
the accident cases if defendant was charged with a violation of R.S. 39:4-50 (DWI) and/or if violation occurs within 1000 feet of school property or school
crossing zone, construction or safe corridor zone. H. Scott Aalsberg, Esq., P.C. Main office address: 39 Milltown Road, East Brunswick, N.J. 08816. Please
consult the New Jersey Code of Criminal Justice and Motor Vehicle Laws for complete details on all fines and penalties for leaving the scene of an accident
in NJ as the penalties listed in this website are for informational purposes only. Past performance is not indicative of future performance and each case is
fact sensitive, thus, the need for the in office consultation for the attorney to evaluate your leaving the scene of an accident charge. Some penalties for
leaving the scene of an accident in NJ may not apply to out of state residents please consult an attorney in your state of residence.
Understanding the Law:
New Jersey has both a motor vehicle charge of leaving the scene of an accident and a criminal charge for leaving the scene of an
accident. The NJ motor offense is charged on a common ticket form as 39:4-129. The criminal charge is contained at N.J.S.A.
2C:12-1.1. The Criminal charge generally starts as criminal complaint (aka green sheet) but can start as a ticket if the police are not
aware of the extent of any victims injury and can then be upgraded to the criminal charge. The laws and names are similar but there
are significant differences, particularly, with respect to penalties and punishment. The criminal offense in NJ for leaving the scene of
an accident is an indictable charge, with up to 5 years in jail and is generally applied if death or serious injury is involved, when
someone leaves the scene of an accident. The Traffic Ticket Offense for leaving the scene of an accident in New Jersey, has a
maximum sentence of 180 days in jail. To learn more about the criminal charge of Leaving the Scene of an Accident click here:
|Helping Clients Get Not Guilty
Verdicts for 25+ Years
98% Success Rate to Win, Reduce or Eliminate the
penalties for all NJ Leaving the Scene of an Accident
Charges in NJ
|H. Scott Aalsberg, Esq., P.C.
Attorney at Law
1028 Route #23 North, Wayne, N.J. 07470
6 Cornwall Court, Suite D, East Brunswick, N.J. 08816
1-800-9-RIGHTS or (732) 257-5040
www.GetNotGuilty.com "When Only Winning Counts"
New Jersey Leaving the Scene of
the Accident Lawyer Copyright 2019
NJ Leaving the Scene of the
Accident Lawyer Copyright 2019
SERVING ALL OF
|Free In Office Consultation 1-800-9-RIGHTS
We Can Help You Win, Reduce or Eliminate the Penalties Even if Guilty! 98% Success Rate
Leaving the Scene of an Accident
Involving Damages to any
property or vehicle: 39:4-129D
1st Offense: Six months loss of license, A
fine of not less than $200.00 nor more than
$400.00 and or up to 30 days imprisonment
and 2 points.
2nd or Subsequent offense: 1 Year loss of
license a fine of $400.00 to $600.00 and
imprisonment for not less than 30 days nor
more than 90 days and 2 points.
|Penalties for Leaving the Scene of an Accident Ticket in New Jersey 39:4-129A-D:
|Leaving the Scene of an Accident
Involving a non serious Injury to a
person charged as a ticket
1st Offense: One year loss of license, a fine of
not less than $2,500 nor more than $5,000, or be
imprisoned for a period of 180 days or both. In
addition this offense carries 8 points. Note that
many times this offense will begin as a ticket and
then upgraded to the criminal charge once the
extent of injury is known by the judge, prosecutor
or police. Click here for criminal charges and
|Charged with a Ticket for Leaving the Scene of an Accident in NJ?
Call 1-800-9-RIGHTS for a Free In Office Consultation
Understanding the Defenses for Leaving the Scene of an Accident:
New Jersey has set forth limited defenses to a leaving the scene of an accident charges. This is due to the fact that the offense is
charged anytime the actor moves his car away from the spot of the accident. The intended purpose of the law was to allow the police
and insurance companies to determine who is at fault for the accident by documenting where the cars came to rest at the conclusion
of the accident. The only true factual defense to a leaving the scene of an accident charge in New Jersey are generally the following:
1) The accident never occurred
2) The infraction was de minimis (ex. car was moved but it was only to let an injured person move safely out of an impacted car)
3) Another person was driving the car during the accident
But even if you don't fall in one of these three categories Attorney H. Scott Aalsberg can help. Attorney Aalsberg has been successful
at reducing or eliminating this charge for the vast majority of clients he represents. With Attorney H. Scott Aalsberg's 98% success
rate of winning, reducing or eliminating the penalties for traffic tickets in NJ, you can be assured that you will have the best defense
possible to win your leaving the scene of an accident charge.
Understanding the Penalty for Leaving the Scene of an Accident in NJ:
New Jersey has set forth harsh penalties for failing to stay at the scene of an accident and or moving your car. Although the fines may
be relatively small the loss of license component can cost tens of thousands of dollars in lost wages and opportunities missed for
being unable to drive a car in NJ. For commercial drivers the loss of license is even longer with a 1 to 3 year loss of license as
opposed to a 6 month minimum for all drivers. Attorney H. Scott Aalsberg has been successful at reducing or eliminating this charge
for the vast majority of clients he represents. With Attorney H. Scott Aalsberg's 98% success rate of winning, reducing or eliminating
the penalties for traffic tickets in NJ, you can be assured that you will have the best defense to win your leaving the scene charge. . .
|Helping Clients Get
Verdicts For Over 25 Years
Understanding the Standards of Proof for Leaving the Scene of an Accident:
New Jersey has set forth limited standards of proof needed for a conviction for a leaving the scene of an accident charge. Since 2015
damage is not even required if a person should have known they were in an accident (State vs. Sene 2015). The court ruled that only
a "reasonable belief by the driver is needed to prove a charge of leaving the scene of an accident. Reasonable belief is generally
defined as what the driver knew or should have known. Thus, the court ruled even where no proof of contact between the drivers car
and a pedestrian may have occurred the driver may still be charged and convicted of leaving the scene of an accident. Obviously,
most drivers should know that they were in accident by simply seeing the damage on their car or hearing a noise. But with this judicial
decision, damage is no longer even required if you left the scene of an accident if: 1) an injury is alleged and or 2) $250.00 or more
worth of damage to any property has occurred. Moral of the story - You Need the Best Lawyer if you expect to Win, Reduce or
Eliminate the penalties for a leaving the scene of an accident charge in NJ.
Understanding the Immigration Consequences for Leaving the Scene of an Accident in NJ
If you are an immigrant to this country a conviction for leaving the scene of an accident could cause you to be removed, denied entry,
deported or your status not renewed. A conviction for leaving the scene of an accident could even effect your status if you are a
green card holder or a citizen for less than 1 year, thus the need for skilled representation to make sure that you get the best result
for your charge.
|Attorney H. Scott Aalsberg, Esq., is Ranked Nationally as one of the Top Ten Criminal Defense Atorneys
by the National Association of Criminal Defense Attorneys and was selected as one of the Top 100 Trial Lawyers by the National Trial Lawyers.
If you want to win your charge you need the best lawyer. Put Attorney H. Scott Aalsberg, Esq., success rate to work for you.