|Allowing unlicensed driver to drive NJ||39:3-37.1(a)||Fines up to $500 and or up to 15 days in Jail|
|Lending driver’s license NJ||39:3-37.1(b)||Fines up to $500 and or up to 15 days in Jail|
|Driving without a license NJ (no prior license)||39:3-10||Fines up to $500 Jail up to 60 days. No license will issue For 180 days.|
|Driving without a license NJ (with proof of prior license)||39:3-10||Fines up to $500. Jail up to 60 days.|
|Violating restriction on conditional license NJ||39:3-11||Fine up to $100. Jail up to 30 days.|
In Addition To The Above Penalties For Allowing An Unlicensed Driver To Drive In New Jersey, You Could Also Be Held Liable For Any Injuries Or Property Damages In The Event An Accident Occurs. But This Is Usually By Way Of A Civil Law Suit Against You Or Claim Against Your Insurance Which May Or May Not Cover Your Due To The Fact That You Improperly Allowed The Other Person To Drive Your Vehicle.
In General The Law For Allowing An Unlicensed Driver to Drive Your Vehicle In NJ: 39:3-37.1(B)
A person who owns, leases or otherwise has control or custody of a motor vehicle in NJ shall not allow that montor vehicle to be operated by an unlicensed driver. Thus the law requires the owner or the person who leased the car to check or make sure the person who is using their vehicle is licensed.
The Elements of the offense:
1) Must be a person that owns, leases or otherwise has control over the vehicle that is registered.
2) The person allowed either directly or indirectly this person to operate the vehicle
The Penalties If Convicted Of Allowing An Unlicensed Driver To Drive Your Car In NJ
A person for allowing an unlicensed driver to drive his or her vehicle shall be subject to a fine between $200 to $500 and up to15 days jail. The driver may also be subject to a violation of 39:3-10 unlicensed driving which subjects the offender for a first offense up to a $500 fine and or, up to 60 days in jail.
As stated the penalties for allowing an unlicensed driver to drive in NJ are severe and can include up to 15 days in jail. It does not matter that your violation was simply forgetting to check if the person had a license. This is your responsibility to do this as the person who is in control of, owns or leases a car. We can however help you. Attorney Aalsberg has a 98%* Success Rate of Reducing, Eliminating or Winning these charges. Put his success in over 12,000 cases to help you defeat these penalties. We can help, but you must take the first step and setup the free in office consultation by calling 1-800-9-RIGHTS. The call is free the advice may be priceless!
You have now read the consequences of allowing an unlicensed driver to drive your car in New Jersey now is the time to pickup the phone and get help! Call our office at 1-800-9-RIGHTS for a free in office consultation!
Attorney H. Scott Aalsberg, Esq., has been chosen as one of the Top 100 Trial Lawyer by the National Trial Lawyers Association and has a perfect 10.0 score from AVVO attorney rating service. Get the best defense for your unlicensed driving ticket you deserve it!
Helping Clients Get NOT GUILTY Verdicts For 30 Years