98%* Success Rate to Win, Reduce or Eliminate the Penalties for all NJ Traffic Tickets. Put this success rate to work for you call 1-800-9-RIGHTS to setup a Free in office consultation!

Even If You Did Not Have Insurance, Your Case Is Not Hopeless . We Can Help! Call 1-800-9-RIGHTS To Setup A Free In Office Consultation And Learn How!

Don't Give Up! Your case is not hopeless even if you did not have insurance! Call 1-800-9-RIGHTS and to setup a free in office consultation and learn how!

Driving or Owning a car in the State of New Jersey without insurance is a serious offense. If your found guilty of driving or owning a car without liability insurance you will lose your license for at least 1 Year. Thats 4 times longer than even a DWI. We Can Help but you must take the first step and setup the free in office consultation by calling 1-800-9-RIGHTS

Penalties If Convicted For Driving Without Insurance In NJ

First Offense

Loss of Drivers License: One Year
community service: To be Determined by the Court
Fine between $300.00 and $1,000.00
NJ State Surcharge: $250.00 per year for 3 years

Second Offense

Jail Time: 14 days (mandatory)
Loss of License: 2 Years
Community Service: 30 days
Fine: $5000.00
NJ State Surcharge $250.00 per year for 3 years

Lawyers Commentary : The state of New Jersey has up to 90 days to issue a ticket for no insurance from the date of the alleged violation. This ticket can be given during a motor vehicle stop or mailed to you by the court.

As you can see the general penalties for failure to carry liability insurance on a car is extreme. You must fight this charge because if you lose your license you could lose your job, your house and all that is important to you because you can't drive. You can't drive anywhere as New Jersey does not even have a work only license unlike most other states. Don't go let this happen to you, we can help. Defenses do exist especially for a first offense no insurance charge in NJ. Call our office at 1-800-9-RIGHTS or (732) 257-5040 to setup a free in office consultation to find out how our experienced Lawyers can help you reduce or eliminate these penalties.

The Best Defense to a No Insurance Charge in New Jersey is to hire the best lawyer possible. Insurance is a document charge but your failure to have these documents or to show these documents to a police officer may mean the difference between having a license to drive or being suspended. It does not matter whether you own, lease or borrow a car it must be insured. Don't lose your license, and don't go to jail, call our office today, and speak to an experienced New Jersey Traffic Law Attorney. The call is free the help may be priceless.

Attorney H. Scott Aalsberg, Esq., P.C.

Helping Clients Get Not Guilty Verdicts For Over 30 Years  Free IN Office Consultation

Driving without liability insurance in New Jersey also has many other collateral consequences after going to Court for example : a driver must pay a $250 a year surcharge to motor vehicle services for three years. Plus a driver will be charged with 9 insurance eligibility points.

These insurance eligibility points will make it very expensive for any driver to obtain any type of motor vehicle insurance once your NJ drivers license is restored.

Attorney H. Scott Aalsberg, Esq., P.C.
Attorney H. Scott Aalsberg, Esq., P.C.

Additional penalties for being convicted for driving without insurance in NJ

Under NJSA: 39:5-31: A judge may suspend the driving privileges of any person he/she deems to be guilty of a “willful violation” of the law. In simplified layman terms this means that, if the driver knew or should have known, what he/she was doing was illegal or improper, (example running a red light or speeding double the limit or 30mph or more over the limit etc.) the judge may issue a license revocation or suspension to that person even if the particular statute has no provision for a license suspension.

A suspension under 39:5-31 is generally only given by a judge when a ticket is either:

  • Marked with a mandatory court appearance or
  • When an accident occurs as a result of the ticketed persons actions or
  • If the person has a bad past driving record. (points may go away over time, but the violation stays on your record for life)

Accordingly, If your ticket is marked mandatory court appearance, do not try to handle this ticket yourself, put the experience of Attorney Aalsberg to work for you to help reduce or eliminate any possible license suspension. Attorney Aalsberg has a 98%* Success rate to win, reduce or eliminate the penalties for all NJ traffic ticket charges.