If You are Charged with Unlicensed Driving or Allowing an Unlicensed Driver to Drive Your Car You May Go to Jail:
|Driving without a license NJ (no prior license)||39:3-10||Fines up to $500 Jail up to 60 days. No license will issue For 180 days.|
|Driving without a license NJ (with proof of prior license)||39:3-10||Fines up to $500. Jail up to 60 days.|
|Violating restriction on conditional license NJ||39:3-11||Fine up to $100. Jail up to 30 days.|
|Lending driver’s license NJ||39:3-37.1(a)||Fines up to $500 and or up to 15 days in Jail|
|Allowing unlicensed driver to drive NJ||39:3-37.1(b)||Fines up to $500 and or up to 15 days in Jail|
In addition to the state penalties for allowing an unlicensed driver to drive in New Jersey, you could also be held liable for any injuries or property damages in the event an accident occurs but this is usually by way of a civil law suit or claim against your insurance.
In General The Law For Unlicensed Driving In NJ: (39:3-10)
No person shall drive a motor vehicle on a public highway in this State unless the person is under supervision while participating in a behind-the-wheel driving course or is in possession of a validated NJ permit, or a provisional, basic or cdl driver's license issued to him by this or any other state.
The Penalties If Convicted Of Unlicensed Driving In NJ
A person driving while unlicensed shall be subject to: A fine not exceeding $500 and up to 60 days jail, plus MVC surcharges. If said unlicensed driver has never been licensed in this or any other state a minimum fine of $200.00 must be imposed by the court, plus up to 60 days in jail, and the court shall issue an order to the motor vehicle commission requiring the MVC to refuse to issue a license to operate a motor vehicle to the person for a period of not less than 180 days. Commonly this violation can be charged as either 39:3-10, 39:3-10(a) or 39:3-10(b).
The penalties for unlicensed driving in NJ are severe and can include up to 60 days in jail. It does not matter that your violation was simply forgetting to renew your license on time or take a vision test, or simply never had a license in this or any other state. Unfortunately no affirmative defenses exist for an unlicensed driving ticket unless you had a valid license. It is not up to the State to prove that you were licensed it is up to you in court. Unlicensed driving may seem like small mistake, but the law states if you are to drive you must do so with a valid license or permit. Put our success in over 12,000 cases to help you defeat or reduce these penalties. We can help, but you must take the first step and setup the free in office consultation by calling 1-800-9-RIGHTS. The call is free the advice may be priceless!
When you need to get the best Criminal Defense
We Can help:
- Eliminate Jail Time
- Eliminate Probation and License Suspensions
- Eliminate Your Criminal Record
- Over 12,000+ Satisfied Clients in NJ
- All Crimes - All of NJ
You have now read the consequences of unlicensed driving in New Jersey now is the time to pickup the phone and get help! Call our office at 1-800-9-RIGHTS for a free in office consultation!
Attorney H. Scott Aalsberg, Esq., has been chosen as one of the Top 100 Trial Lawyer by the National Trial Lawyers Association and has a perfect 10.0 score from AVVO attorney rating service. Get the best defense for your unlicensed driving ticket you deserve it!
Helping Clients Get NOT GUILTY Verdicts For 30 Years
Don't Go To Jail We Can Help!
Don't Lose Your License We Can Help!